Skip to content

Louis Mariette

March 16, 2009

This morning I thought to myself that I should dedicate a blog to accessories seeing as I’ve focused so much on shoes and dresses lately (I know you’re not terribly shocked!)… then,  not more than two minutes later I came across the site of Louis Mariette! AB-SO-LUTE-LY BRILLIANT. I loooove antique jewelry and I love headpieces… perhaps finding this site was fate! The jewelry is not actually antique, but it has an undeniable vintage feel– complete with clamper bracelets (a bit of Juliana nostalgia).

A bit of history: Louis Mariette was born in Malawi and grew up in Botswana and Swaziland. As a child, he spent endless hours observing the fauna and flora of the African landscape. He would also collect stones, seeds, flowers, etc from local tribes. His past explorations and findings are definitely present in his designs.

Of all the beautiful pieces this designer has made, I have to say that I’m most in love with the headpieces. There’s just something about a rhinestone-encrusted headband that makes such a strong statement! I’ve listed a few of my favorite pieces below, but be sure to hop over to http://www.louismariette.com to check them all out… I can’t make any promises about your bank balance, because I’m sure you’ll fall in love with several pieces! These designs are definitely fit for a Queen Mother, though perhaps they have a little too much bling for her liking.

Ivy

Ivy

Venus

Venus

Royal Diamante

Royal Diamante

Princess Teardrop

Princess Teardrop

Chelsea

Chelsea

My absolute favorites are Venus and Princess Teardrop :] I wore a headband similar to the Venus style at a photoshoot and it was so heavy that it had to be secured in the back with elastic. I love that these are completely jeweled, but actually look light and wearable! I think it’s so devastating to get a gorgeous headband and then find out that it leaves you with a headache :[

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

