Skip to content

Current Obsession: Mary Katrantzou

February 23, 2009

So during a visit to Brown’s today I was able to view some new pieces from a designer that I just can’t get enough of– the Greek fashion goddess Mary Katrantzou. The designs are inspired by constructivism and the 70’s. Many feature prints on the front intended to appear as larger than life neckpieces– they have a pop-art feel with none of the kitsch factor.  The icing on the cake? They are constructed of the softest silk! I love the thought of throwing on a dress and not needing to look for neck accessories to pair it with– grab some bangles and go. The dresses are a bit pricey though, so if you’re a bit skint a better option could be to buy one of her actual jewelry pieces which will probably hold their value a bit better and last forever!

I’ve added four of my favs below (and a necklace) for your viewing pleasure! I’d gladly wear them with flats or heels…


(Incase you’re wondering she studied at RISD before transferring to Central Saint Martins. It’s obscene how much talent goes through CSM! Always my fav part to watch on the runway…)

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 3:52 pm

    Who is this new designer? I havent heard of it yet… please send me more info :) Very interesting. I might need to introduce it to my readers as well on pages of KatyaUK. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

