Skip to content

Going Native– Tribal Inspirations

February 19, 2009

Whether the inspiration be African, Aztec, or Navajo I’m loving the comeback of tribal prints! I’m also of Native American ancestry, so these designs have a special place to me :] I’ve put together some of my favorite tribal pieces in the collage below– obviously I don’t intend to wear the tops WITH the bottoms, just how the items fit together on the page! I think sticking to one piece of tribal print per outfit is a good starting point as mixing could get a bit tricky :] I especially love the pieces that have a touch of mustard color– just seems a bit more authentic!

A couple tribal vests I’m loving from Matthew Williamson (left two) and Balmain (right):

Even Preen has got in on the tribal print– I looove me some Preen, and absolutely looooooooove this dress!

(A bit about me: One of my most sacred possessions is a cuff bracelet with a huge turquoise stone that belonged to my grandmother. She got it while vacationing in Arizona– probably in the 70’s. It’s such a conversation piece as people constantly compliment it and ask where it’s from.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    February 19, 2009 2:19 pm

    I love tribal print. It reminds me of world travel in the mid ninteys. It could have been the places I flew to, but you would have been hard pressed not to see a beautiful girl wrapped in a batik style tribal print hybrid. I cannot wait until dresses like that are made in the US.

Leave a Reply

